http://www.ddiworld.com
http://www.ddiworld.com

12: The  elements of great managers by Rodd Wagner and JK Harter talks about how to harness employee engagement and how this engagement can increase profitability. They quote the Gallup research on employee opinion. After years of study the following areas became evident. Employees said if you do these things for us, we will do what the company needs.

The 12 elements of great managing include:

1. I know what is expected of me at work

2. I have the right materials and equipment to do my work right.

3. I have the opportunity to do what I do best every day.

4.  In the last seven days I have received recognition or praise for doing good work.

5. My superior or someone at work cares about me.

6. There is someone at work that encourages my development.

7. At work opinions seem to count.

8. The mission or purpose of the company makes me feel that my work is important.

9. My associates or fellow employees are committed to doing quality work.

10. I have a best friend at work.

11. I the last 6 months someone has talked to me about my progress at work.

12. This last year I have had opportunities to grow and learn.

It might be a great idea to see if you are providing the above for your employees and then maybe send out a survey of yes/no on these elements to see where you actually are.

The results of this survey draw a road map to better managing but also reveal insights into your companies culture. This culture is part of your brand and by understand this you can enhance and realign where you need to go. High performing companies consider the productivity on eachf  person’s engagement by optimising each person’s contribution.

Employee Engagement survey based on the 12 elements. Only do this survey if you intend to act on the results.

A whitepaper byDDI. Employee Engagement: The Key to revealing the competitive advantage.

pdf on 12: The elements of great managers.

